Saturday Is Hunting Day

During hunting season I usually go out 2 to 3 times a week, but Saturday is my early morning day. Right around 4 A.M. we get going. DSC00018This week I took my boy out for the first time chukar & quail hunting. He hasn’t had much training so it’s a bit difficult to get much going with him right now. He’s still a good dog and he’s got a hell of a nose. He wants to do well, he listens and learns fast not to mention he’s loyal as hell. We didn’t find much more than a jack-rabbit & some dove but that’s a good start for him. I hiked a good 4 miles as the crow flies, but it’s all up and down into gullies & creek beds, back up to the tops of hills and rocks. The poor mutt kept up the whole time. He acted like he was dying on the way home. But he is just a spoiled little brat when it comes down to it.

I’m kind of a camera slut when I go out into the mountains. I tend to take a lot of snapshots, so I have a few to show today. These are pics of the hills and surrounding areas outside of Dayton, Nevada’s south side open public lands. There are a few of Godzilla and myself in there as well. I’m not going to apologize either.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Access to these areas are on the back side of the Dayton Rodeo Arena if you are ever in the area and want to go see for yourself. As you can see, we like to park the car and walk/hike off the beaten path. When you stay on the main path, there is just too much that you don’t see. And that’s not why we do it.

* * * * *

One of the things that I find all too much anymore, and this pisses me off to no end, trash. Fucking people can be the filthiest, inconsiderate laziest assholes of all creatures sometimes. There is a certain type of human that happens to be the lowest form of them all. That would be the animal abusers and rapists. Just above them on that list are the slime sucking fucks who would drive a truckload of trash ten miles out into the mountains, in some cases an hour out of the way, dump a load of shit onto the pristine land then go home to their nice little home & not feel a bit of shame. Meanwhile, the land is just covered in the shit that they where to damn cheap to pay to go to the dump for. ASSHOLES.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am sorry for the desert mountains & for the wildlife that has to live in that crap. But I will not apologize for the jerks who do this shit. They deserve worse than they get.

I am not one of those people who bitches about it then does nothing. While I’m out, I nearly always pick up shit, take it home and throw it away in my own trash can. I also pick up brass casings, for reloads or scrap value (my kids are the ones who profit from this) any time I find a pile of it lying around.

I can’t clean up the entire dessert alone, so I have chosen a type of trash to pick up. Mostly, I pick up shotgun shells, cans, & metal that has rusted and is out in the open for an animal or person to cut themself on. There is a bucket in my car for the shells, Damn if I had a dollar for every one of them. It’s not all I do but it’s what I do just about every time. Not much, but it’s something.

I don’t own a truck, so my Jeep is what I use. There are a few garbage bags at any givin time in the back though. I have been known to load the fucker with trash & shit and stink it the hell up. That sucks.

“Always take more out of the desert than you brought in.”

I’ve been cleaning up at the local firing ranges as well. It seems like these Gung Ho “2nd amendment advocates” or “Mericans” who care so much about their nation don’t seem to give a fuck about the land they leave their shit on.

I have spoken to a few folks at the Carson City Firing Range about maybe taking a day & let’s all get together to pick up some trash around the ranges. Big surprise, they all agree “it’s not my fault/problem”. More like they’re either just as lazy as the asshats who dump into the desert, or nothing is more important than “them”.

“It’s up to the people who make a mess to clean it up” they say. What a chicken shit cop-out.

I have been doing this for years now, this is the first & the last time you will ever hear a complaint about it from me. The next time you are at the firing ranges out here, think about this. We have to live with what we do.

People, clean up after yourselves dammit. Or don’t use the facilities.

* * * * *

I do not apologize.

DSC00001

 

One thought on “Saturday Is Hunting Day

What Do You Have To Say For Yourself

